Tutorial-marking a quilt with tulle

I’ve been brainstorm HOW to mark this butterfly quilt.  I’ve been stumped!!  Hop in the car and head to mom’s for the holiday, and I drag out my newest quilt magazine.  This one is American Patchwork and Quilting.  In the tips page was my answer!!  Many Many thanks to a Stephanie Ness from CA who submitted the tip!  But some people need to see things in action.  So here is my first pictorial tutorial.  Here we go!

First, hoop up a piece of tulle in an embroidery hoop.  Lay it on the pattern and trace with a permanent marker.

When you pick up the hoop, the pattern should be easily seen.

Once the ink has completely dried, lay it on your quilt.  Retrace the lines using a fabric marker.

Pick up the tulle and inspect your work.

Then just stitch it out!

I hope this helps anyone looking for a new marking method.  It’s working very very well for me!

 

Peace and Pieces, Amy

4 responses to “Tutorial-marking a quilt with tulle

  1. Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeek! I love this tutorial!!! I’ve been wanting to figure this out myself and you just showed me how!!! You are great!!! Merry Christmas Miss Butterfly!!!!

  2. What a Great Idea! Are you going to machine stitch or embroider this?

  3. You are a genious! This is a wonderful marking method. Thank you soo much for sharing. Bernie

  4. They are machine stitched, and I just want it on record that I did NOT come up with the method! I just showed how it’s done!

Leave a Reply

