Thinning the Herd??

Hi.  My name is Amy.  And I’m a Fabric Hoarder.  More specifically, a SCRAP hoarder.  And unfortunately, I don’t often do scrap quilts, so they just keep multiplying!!   Currently, I have two 30 gallon totes, chock-a-block full.

Scrap totes hiding under the Long Arm

I also have some that were sorted by color and jammed into bins.

untrimmed color bins

So, what to do?  Well, Mrs Bonnie Hunter of Quiltville is a true Scrap Queen!  She wrote a piece a year ago titled Fabric Herding.  It shows how SHE organizes the mess involved with quilting.  At the moment, I have no  need for all of the sizes she keeps, but I can still manage to do a bit of thinning on my own!

I have noticed that I use mostly 2.5″ strips.  Binding, bricks, etc.  So I grabbed the neutral bin and started chopping!

2.5" strips

There are a bunch of precut squares that someone gave me.  Not sure what I’ll do with them, but I’ll figure it out.  I ended up with a small stack of 4″x6″ postcard pieces, and some fat quarter-ish pieces that will end up with the rest of the FQ’s.  See how PRETTY this looks now?  Only took about 2 hours!!  LOL

neutrals

So, what color should I move to next??!  Those big bins will take me forever.  I ALSO need to figure out how to convince clients to order SCRAP QUILTS!!!  I don’t have the time to make one and then try to sell it.

Speaking of which–there’s a quilt on the frame now.  Guess I should get to it.

peace and pieces,
amy

7 responses to “Thinning the Herd??

  1. Hi Amy I wish I had this problem wow you are very fortunate….good luck!

  2. Oh Amy….I almost made a dash to a nearby town today…there was a textile plant giving away fabric scraps and swatches. Then a friend told me I didn’t need any more “junk”! And to think I was planning on sending some to her! lol

  3. i have no scraps, have to restart my fabric stash all over. I was robbed in the process of moving and they took everything quilted related. It was all packed and ready to go. Love to have scraps like you. ha ha

    Love scrappy Quilts might need to talk to you about ordering one.

    • STOLE your quilt stuff? That is grounds for bodily harm in my book. I’m so sorry!!! I’d be happy to make a scrap quilt. Let me know! In the mean time, I hope you can find at least SOMETHING quilty to do!

  4. Every time you head to the iron to press a seam, press a couple of pieces of your scrap fabric and place them on your cutting mat. Then, whenever you are cutting/trimming, stop and cut the scraps into useable pieces. I did this – it took a year to tame the scraps, but now I don’t collect more – everything that is too small to return to a shelf gets cut into a strip or square.
    Once you begin making scrappy quilts, you’ll never want to stop!

Leave a Reply

