What’s it worth?

What’s it worth?.   Im reblogging this after seeing RuthieQuilts reblog it. This is more for the clients I have coming in than the loyal quilter followers that I have. I already use Hobby Lobby materis at $7 a yard, and I work for less than minimum wage. And I STILL loose clients who get furious at $200 for a twin quilt.

Just think about this…….

10 responses to “What’s it worth?

  1. I am starting to feel the pain too. People just don’t seem to understand that quilting is an expensive hobby and to have a quilt made is a very expensive venture. No matter the times you show them on paper the costs, they just don’t get it. I wonder if they would step up and donate towards a new quilter for me if I lowered my prices?

  2. I don’t know how to answer that, Jeanne. I DO know that my prices are a lot lower than those I see online. I truly work for almost nothing. But I LOVE to quilt, and can’t afford my own fabric. Selling commissioned work offered me a “free” way to expand my skills, as well as force me out of my comfort zone. Have you seen my Insane Applique???? That was a doozy for a girl who never ever never wanted to do applique! I know that the pattern way is a smart choice, and I LOVE to design patterns. I just need to get some FINISHED! LOL

  3. The worth of a hand made quilt is an ongoing problem. I don’t really want to spend money on a quilt made by someone else because I can make them myself but for someone who can’t make it and wants a hand made quilt they should be prepared to pay the price. I am also keeping some proof that I made the quilts I have in my house and working out a valuation just in case I need to claim on insurance. I heard once that unless you fight you only get back the price of a comforter from Big W.

    • From what I understand, you get NOTHING back unless it was properly appraised (which is NOT cheap) AND had additional riders. I don’t know……..the few I’ve kept around are truly drag-around quilts, and not heirlooms. So it’s not an issue for me yet.

  4. That’s why I won’t go into business. And I’m very stingy with whom my quilts go to. Not because I’m a snob, but because the assumption it’s a $50.00 lap sized quilt means they don’t recognize the work. It may be under $50.00 of fabric, but the work that goes into the layout, piecing, and quilting is all lost…

    But then every once in a while you get someone who “gets it”. And their compliments make your heart burst. And you have faith again… 🙂

    • I gave several away and was disgusted at the reception, yes. But MOST of mine have created tears. And that is what I wanted!! And even though my prices are still a bit low, they are slowly crawling. A few awards under my belt will help too!! LOL

  5. You are right about that. I saw my grandmothers quilts sell for almost nothing after all the work she put into it. She hand sewed every quilt she made. She had to sell 4 quilts to be able to buy a quilt frame for $100 we are talking 50 years ago.

  6. Until a craftsperson makes a “name” for themselves they won’t get top dollar out of their work. Caryl Bryer Fallert gave an eye-opening account of how to value art quilts. Go to http://www.bryerpatch.com/faq/marketing.htm to see what she had to say.
    As a quilt shop owner, I hear complaints about the price of fabric often, even though I’m one of the least expensive shops in our area. To educate new quilters who are looking for bargains I explain that making a quilt is like building a house. You wouldn’t skimp on the materials that go into the foundation of a house because you want all that work to last for generations to come. Why then would you skimp on fabric when you put the same number of hours into a project made from sub-standard goods as you do with quality goods? They usually get it after that illustration, but it doesn’t mean they like it. I have an article, “All Are Not Created Equal” on my blog that you’re welcome to refer folks to if they need it spelled out for them. It can be found under “Random Musings” at the top of the page. If they still want to complain about price and you want to keep their business, offer to let them shop with you, pay for the fabric, thread, batting, etc. when it’s purchased, and then agree on a price for your labour at no less than $10 an hour because electricity isn’t cheap. Better yet, offer to teach them, for a fee, and once they see what goes into the making of a quilt they might have a change of heart. We can only dream…

    • I have been considering offering sewing lessons, just to help increase awareness. I really like the “skimp on building materials” analogy. I still have clients who can’t afford me to buy Moda, but I have seen how well Moda (and other name brands) hold up. I used a gorgeous charm pack for a center and HobbyLobby for the border. The center is still new looking, but the border is ragged and faded. Now this quilt gets washed OFTEN, but still…… I’m trying to decide if I can afford to raise prices to what they should be, and risk loosing clients. If one quilt makes me a true profit, though, how can I NOT?

Leave a Reply

