Birds On a Wire

OK, let’s try this again!   Welcome to Butterfly Angels Quilting.  I am here for my turn with Whims and Fancies.  This theme is Spring.  Every spring, HORDES of black birds come through   Loud and obnoxious, they make their presence known.  Here is a cell picture when they were just starting to come through.
image

So my block depicts this.  Unfortunately, it also shows a buttload of flaws.  The flipped piece of blue, the messed up seams.  Please forgive them.  I can’t go into detail, but my mind was in a few other places, and there was NO time to resew it.  IMG_6150

I love my black birds, wonky and all.  And I hope you do too.  Now, PLEASE come back on the 25th.  My amazing partner will offer her first ever solo paper piece block.  And don’t forget to go check the rest of the bloghop.  There are some AMAZING blocks there!

download my PDF file here ——->Bird On A Wire PDF pattern 10 inch block

Thanks for dropping by!

peace and pieces,
amy

33 responses to “Birds On a Wire

  1. Hey! That one turned out pretty well. It’s called “Abstract”. Looks perfect to me!!

  2. Good for you! It looks great. We get Magpies here. SO loud and annoying

  3. Pingback: Spring Fling Blog Hop – Birds On A Wire | Whims And Fancies

  4. Birds on a wire is a beautiful block Amy, it looks perfect!! Thank you for everything you did for the blog hop! You are wonderful 🙂

    -Soma

  5. What a neat pattern! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  6. I love it, my son paints this motif when he is painting buildings to blend in the outside in the city, this is a must piece for me. thank you for sharing

  7. Excellent!

  8. I like this block and I am somewhat familiar with paper piecing, but I don’t understand why you say to print all the pieces and tape them together in one big panel. They all look like they’ll print as full pieces to me. Am I misunderstanding something?

    • Kathleen, I am SO sorry! I edited a file that I use for the Sunbonnet Sues. THAT pattern has to be taped. Not the birds. The rest of the instructions are correct. I totally missed that!!

  9. Very pretty and I don’t see any wonk in it at all! We have the crows first , then the sea gulls and then the summer song birds. We are in sea gulls returning now. They are loud too. Lovely block!

  10. Margaret Andrews

    I enjoy this pattern so much as it brings back memories of my father. He did quite a bit of driving in rural areas and one of his greatest pleasures was beeping the horn when birds lined the wires…what fun it was to see his delight when they all flew away…and usually there was one or two brave ones left! He has been gone for quite a while, but I still think of him when I see them…thank you for the memories!

  11. This is such a fun block! I love it! Thanks for sharing it with us!!!

  12. I think this is my favorite, I always loved the images of small birds on the electrical wires, it’s brilliant!

  13. I love it. The flaws as you put it make it perfect, because nothing in nature is perfect. There are a ton of flaws so to speak. Thats what makes it all so bearutiful. Thanks for sharing your pattern.

  14. this is my fave block yet! love it! the crows here have moved on for the summer and the seagulls have returned. thanx for such a delightful block.

  15. Pingback: Spring Fling Blog Hop – Bluebird Of Happiness | Whims And Fancies

  16. I like this, so fun, whimsical and realistic looking. As wonky as you think it is, that just what gives this block it’s charm. Thank You!!

  17. Pingback: Isn’t This Just Awesome!! | Seams To Be Sew

  18. Pingback: Spring Fling Blog Hop – Ulysses Butterfly | Whims And Fancies

  19. Pingback: Spring Fling Blog Hop – Tete A Tete | Whims And Fancies

Leave a Reply

