Question for my quilters…..

image

This quilt was given to me by a friend.  It was made for her sister.  It has no real sentimental value other than it is an amazing quilt top.  It IS hand pieced.  And is probably already 20 years old. 

My question……is machine longarm quilting this a travesty?

I have owned this quilt for several years, saying that it deserves to be hand quilted.  But I dont know when I will ever have the time. 

Thoughts?  Tips?????

Peace and pieces,
amy

23 responses to “Question for my quilters…..

  1. Shira Windschitl

    Leaving it as a flimsy is a travesty. Quilt it up so it can be used and loved!

  2. I wish I had advice! I just started hand quilting some vintage blocks I had given to me! But hand quilting is relaxing to me!

  3. I agree with Shira! Quilting it on a longarm is better than keeping it stored away.

  4. Any way you quilt this will be better than its state right now.

  5. Do what works for you.

  6. I have to agree with what the others have said. Which is more of a travesty – to have such a beautiful top keeping a shelf in your cupboard warm or to long arm quilt it and use it?
    A quilt is not a thing of beauty until it is being used!! Do what works for you, and then use it and love it like it was designed to be used and loved. I am sure that no matter what you do it will be loved.

  7. Oh I agree…… quilts are meant to be loved and to provide love to others…. do what you feel most comfortable with – but I would probably quilt on the long arm so it can be enjoyed. You are so right – it is GORGEOUS!

  8. Use the longarm – done is better than just sitting in storage! If you really want it hand quilted and know that you will never get around to it, then hire someone who loves to hand quilt (and does a good job of it) to do it for you. You could always trade them longarm quilting for hand quilting!!

  9. I agree with everyone, quilting it by longarm is better than leaving it folded up and put away. Don’t forget to show us when it’s all quilted, hehe.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. every quilt made with love needs to be held and hugged…quilt it!!! hugs carol

  11. Many quilts that have been hand pieced are machine quilted. It is all about personal choice as well as necessity. Being that it has waited two decades for the quilting it wouldn’t hurt to ponder it longer, however wanting to see it reach it’s final stage and have it quilted and on top of a bed I personally would go for it! After all what is another work in progress compared to a final work that has seen completion and is onto the enjoyment stage of its life!   Laura Mars

    ________________________________

  12. Not anymore….I’m a hand quilter; learning machine quilting; it is a sign of the times. And you can machine quilt very nicely in so much less time. It will look wonderful

  13. I used to think if it was hand pieced it needed to be hand quilted….well as I have grown older and busier:) I have decided anything goes as long as it gets done:) I had a bunch of churn dash blocks that were all hand pieced… I found them at a yard sale or something. Well I used my baptist fan board on them and it is grand:)

  14. I’m a hand quilter, but, I don’t see anything wrong with machine quilting that top. Quilters have been machine quilting since the sewing machine was invented. If the top was 80+ years old, then, I’d consider hand quilting only (that was the norm then) but, only 20 years old, long arm machines have been around that long and longer.

  15. Yes, it deserves to be hand quilted, but…. it deserves to be finished more than anything! By all means it could be machine quilted and finished. love it!

  16. My personal take on traditional designs is that they look better hand quilted and newer contemporary designs look good with machine quilting. There are always exceptions though and doing what you can afford has to figure into the mix as well. Some machine quilters can make a longarm quilted quilt look like it was hand quilted, but if they count that as custom work then you’ll pay more than you would for an allover pattern. If you think the stitches on this hand pieced quilt are strong enough to hold up to the stretching required to put the quilt on a longarm frame, and you can give the quilter complete direction as to how you want it quilted, then you can have it longarm quilted without any guilt knowing that done is better than not.

  17. I think that someone gave it to you in the hopes that you would do something with it I would quilt it any way I could to get it done so it can be looked at and loved.

  18. Give it a shot on the long arm. You’ll know w/in a few squares. If it fails, —CRAP HAPPENS! If it works, it’s a go!!

  19. I made a hand-pieced twin sized quilt for myself … all the while knowing full well that I was NOT EVER going to hand-quilt it myself. But, I really wanted it hand-quilted. So, I have bartered with a quilting buddy: she will do the hand-quilting and I will machine piece a top of her choosing. I put no restrictions on the size or design or construction (I’m confident enough of my abilities). *I* think I’m getting the better deal because no matter what she wants me to do, I will get that top finished before she completes the hand-quilting. *She* thinks she’s getting the better deal because she dislikes piecing and does it under duress only so she can have a top to hand-quilt! The best of both worlds!

  20. I agree with mosy of the other comments – it needs to be quilted to be properly appreciated. If you feel it should be hand quilted, check with local quilt groups or churches. Some of them will hand quilt for you. If not, send it to the log arm quilter and start enjoying it 😄😄😄

  21. You could barter with a hand quilter who would like you to longarm one or two of hers. Or you could straight machine stitch the blocks around the edges and then hand quilt each block as you get time. It will look done if you get the binding on and then you can fiddle with it later.

  22. Finished is better than perfect (whatever perfect means)

  23. Thank you ALL for the suggestions. I own my own longarm, and I don’t know any hand quilters. I think I will ditch the blocks and bind it. Then slowly hand quilt each block. Kind of a compromise. It deserves to be used, but can’t be used at this stage. I also have a bin FULL of fabrics from Fruit Of The Loom….those will become the back I believe. Then the fabrics will all be vintage.

Leave a Reply

